The present stateOn December 23, 2020, the Government of Canada announced the design competition to select the 12 participating teams.

Announcement on PWGSC website

Follow the amendments to the RFQ here
Competition TypeTo select the best project and the design team, Canada is intending to initiate an architectural design competition (competition). The competition is about selecting the team with the right demonstrated capability to undertake this nationally-significant architectural project.

The competition, through the Request for Qualification (RFQ), will be open to qualified architectural entities and be multi-disciplinary in nature to include (and be limited to) structural and building engineering (mechanical/electrical).

The competition is organized as a limited design competition in accordance with the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) regulations for competitions in Canada. Through a prequalification procedure (the RFQ), a predetermined number of firms (up to 12) will be invited to compete in a Request for Proposal (RFP) structured as a two (2) stage, limited design competition and undertaken as shown below:

Advanced Procurement Notice (APN)
• Issued in January 2020

Request for Qualification (RFQ)
• Issued in December 2020
• Open to all interested on https://buyandsell.gc.ca/
• Announce names of design competition jury members
• Qualify and invite up to 12 respondants to participate in the design competition

Request for Proposal (RFP):
COMPETITION Stage 1
• Issued May 2021, tentative working period for competitors 12 weeks
• Competitors will be invited to anonymously submit an outline design concept for evaluation by the Jury, assisted by technical experts
• The jury will short list up to 6 design concepts and invite those competitors to proceed to stage 2

COMPETITION Stage 2
• Tentative working period for competitors 14 weeks
• Competitors will be invited to anonymously submit an advanced design concept for evaluation by the jury, assisted by technical experts
• The jury will select the 1st, 2nd and 3rd prize winners.

Contract
• Negotiated procedure
• Tentative spring 2022
• If PSPC chooses to proceed, negotiate contract with the competition laureate

Note that the projected dates are given for planning purposes only and that the exact number of competitors invited to participate in both stages of the competition are subject to change and will be confirmed in the RFQ.

The languages to be used in the competition are English and French, both enjoying equal status.

The procedure will maintain the competitors’ anonymity. The names of the competitors qualified to participate in the competition will not be communicated to the jury.
ClientCanada, through PSPC
OversightPSPC has engaged the RAIC to oversee the overall competition process (RFQ and RFP) with the nomination of two national Professional Advisors and the assistance of [phase eins] from Germany as competition organizers. Prior to and during the selection/competition processes, the RAIC will validate:
a) Technical requirements related to the conduct of the competition;
b) Competition rules and the competition brief;
c) Judgement criteria; and
d) Honoraria and prize structure.
JuryThe RAIC, with the assistance of PSPC, will nominate an independent, qualified professional jury for the competition process (stages 1 and 2). PSPC will publicly announce the jury composition as part of the RFQ. The jury will not participate in the RFQ selection phase, which will be under the responsibility of PSPC.
The jury is an independent third-party entity to PSPC and will be composed of an odd number of individuals. Prior to the commencement of the design competition, the jury will have vetted and accepted the competition brief and the call for entries, within the framework of a jury colloquium.
The jury will conduct the evaluation of the design concepts submitted in stage 1 and 2 of the competition, including the selection of the prize winners.
Honorarium and PrizesUnder competition Stage 1, an honorarium of CAN$120,000 (excluding applicable taxes) has been allocated for each of the prequalified and invited Competitors presenting a Proposal compliant with the Competition Brief requirements. The terms associated with the payment of the honorarium will be set out in the Competition Brief.

Under competition Stage 2, an honorarium of CAN$165,000 (excluding applicable taxes) has been allocated for each of the invited Competitors presenting a Proposal compliant with the Competition Brief requirements. The terms associated with the payment of the honorarium will be set out in the Competition Brief.

Under Competition Stage 2, further prizes will be distributed to the winners as follows:
1st prize: CAN$220,000
2nd prize: CAN $165,000
3rd prize: CAN $120,000
EligibilityEligible to participate are such individuals, who, on the day of the announcement of the RFQ and pursuant to the legal provisions of their country of residence, are entitled to use the occupational title “Architect”. Individuals from countries where the occupational title “Architect” is not subject to statutory regulations are eligible, provided that they hold a degree or submit any other evidence of qualification or practice permitting them to practice as an architect in their country of residence.

Eligible for participation are also architect consortia (ie joint ventures) formed of individuals and legal entities that include at least one person eligible to participate according to the previous paragraph. Legal entities are only eligible in such joint venture if their statutory objectives include planning activities relevant to the competition task. Legal entities and entities in joint venture must name a single authorized representative who will be responsible for the fulfilment of the competition requirements according to the previous paragraph. The authorized representative as well as all authors of competition entries must meet the eligibility criteria applying to competitors. Notwithstanding the designation of a single authorized representative, each member of any joint
venture shall be jointly and severally liable for any submission from its consortium.

In order to provide any architectural services in the Province of Ontario individuals or legal entities or a joint venture MUST be the holder of a Certificate to Practice issued by the Ontario Association of Architects (OAA). In the case of an Architect who is licensed in a jurisdiction which does not have reciprocity with the OAA, a temporary License and Certificate of Practice under Section 23 of the Ontario Architects Act is available for the purpose of providing architectural services on a project specific basis, conditional on collaboration with an OAA member.
Dates
Deadline for application is extended until March 2nd, 2021
LinksFor further information, you can visit the websites:
raic.org
buyandsell.gc.ca

État du projetLe 23 décembre 2020, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé le processus d'appel d'offres pour sélectionner les 12 équipes participantes.

Annonce sur le site web de PWGSC

Suivez les modifications apportées à l'appel d'offres ici
Type de concoursPour choisir le meilleur projet ainsi que la meilleure l’équipe de conception, le Canada a l’intention de lancer un concours d’architecture (le concours). Le concours consiste à sélectionner l’équipe ayant démontré la capacité appropriée pour entreprendre ce projet architectural d’importance nationale.

Le concours, par l’entremise d’une demande de qualification (DDQ), sera ouvert aux firmes d’architecture qualifiées et sera de nature multidisciplinaire incluant (et se limitera à) l’ingénierie de structure et le génie du bâtiment (mécanique et électrique).

Le concours est organisé sous forme d’un concours de projets à participation restreinte, conformément au Règlement de l’Institut royal d’architecture du Canada pour les concours au Canada. Dans le cadre d’une procédure de présélection (DDQ), un nombre prédéterminé d’entreprises (jusqu’à 12) seront invitées à participer à une demande de propositions (DP) structurée en deux (2) étapes, concours de conception limité et mis en oeuvre comme suit :

Préavis d’approvisionnement (PA)
• Janvier 2020

Demande de qualification (DDQ)
• Décembre 2020
• Ouverte à toutes les parties intéressées sur https://achatsetventes.gc.ca/
• Annonce des noms des membres du jury du concours
• Qualification et invitation, jusqu'à concurrence de 12 répondants, à participer au concours de
conception.

Demande de propositions (Concours de conception restreint):
CONCOURS Étape 1
• Lancement été 2021, période de travail provisoire de 8 semaines pour les concurrents.
• Les concurrents seront invités à soumettre anonymement des prestations sommaires pour
évaluation par le jury, assisté d’experts techniques.
• Le jury électionnera jusqu’à six prestations sommaires qui passeront à l’étape 2 du concours.

CONCOURS Étape 2
• Période de travail provisoire de 14 semaines pour les concurrents.
• Les concurrents sélectionnés de l’étape 1 seront invités à soumettre anonymement des prestations
avancées pour évaluation par le jury, assisté d’experts techniques.
• Le jury remettra un prix aux trois meilleurs projets, lauréats du concours.

Contrat
• Procédure négociée
• Visant printemps 2022
• Si SPAC décide d’aller de l’avant, il négociera un contrat avec le lauréat du concours.

Veuillez prendre note que les dates prévues ne sont indiquées qu’à des fins de planification et que le nombre exact de candidats invités à participer aux deux étapes du concours est sujet à changement et sera confirmé dans la DDQ.

Les langues utilisées dans le concours sont l’anglais et le français, les deux langues jouissant d’un statut égal.

L’anonymat des concurrents sera préservé au long de la procédure. Les noms des concurrents
sélectionnés pour le concours ne seront pas divulgués au jury.
PromoteurLe Canada, par l’entremise de SPAC
SurveillanceSPAC a retenu les services de l’Institut royal d’architecture du Canada (IRAC) pour lasupervision de l’ensemble du processus de concours (DDQ et DP) par le biais de la nomination de deux conseillers professionnels nationaux épauler par le spécialiste en concours [phase eins] de l’Allemagne, ce dernier agissant en guise d’organisateur du concours. Avant et pendant les processus de présélection et de concours, l’IRAC validera les
éléments suivants :
a) les exigences techniques liées à la tenue du concours;
b) le règlement du concours et le cahier des charges du concours ;
c) les critères d’évaluation;
d) les honoraires participatifs et la structure des prix.
JuryL’IRAC en collaboration avec SPAC, désignera un jury professionnel indépendant et qualifié pour le processus du concours (étapes 1 et 2). SPAC annoncera publiquement la composition du jury dans le cadre de la DDQ. Le jury ne participera pas à la phase de présélection de la DDQ, ceci sera sous la responsabilité de SPAC.
Le jury est une entité tierce partie indépendante de SPAC et sera composé d’un nombre impair de professionnels. Avant le lancement du concours, le jury examinera et acceptera le dossier du concours et son cahier des charges, dans le cadre d’un colloque lui étant réservé. Le jury procédera à l’évaluation des prestations présentées aux étapes 1 et 2 du concours, ainsi qu’à la sélection des trois lauréats.
Honoraires et prixDans le cadre de l’étape 1 du concours, une indemnité de participation au montant de 120 000 $ CA (hors taxes) sera allouée à chacun des concurrents présélectionnés et invités présentant une proposition conforme aux exigences du cahier des charges du concours. Les modalités de paiement des indemnités seront précisées dans le dossier du concours.

Dans le cadre de l’étape 2 du concours, une indemnité de participation au montant de 165 000 $ CA (hors taxes) sera allouée à chacun des concurrents invités présentant une proposition conforme aux exigences du cahier des charges. Les modalités de paiement des indemnités seront précisées dans le cahier des charges du concours.

Par ailleurs, dans le cadre de l’étape 2 du concours, des prix seront également distribués aux trois lauréats comme suit :
1er prix : 220.000 $
2e prix: CA 165.000$CA
3e prix: 120.000$CA
AdmissibilitéSont admissibles à participer les personnes qui, le jour de l’annonce de la DDQ et conformément aux dispositions légales de leur pays de résidence, ont le droit de porter le titre professionnel d’« architecte ». Sont admissibles les personnes originaires de pays où le titre professionnel d’« architecte » ne fait pas l’objet d’une réglementation, à condition qu’elles soient titulaires d’un diplôme ou présentent toute autre preuve de compétences ou de pratique leur permettant d’exercer la profession d’architecte dans leur pays de résidence.

Sont également admissibles à participer les consortiums d’architectes (c’est-à-dire les coentreprises) formés de personnes physiques et morales qui comprennent au moins une personne admissible selon la disposition précédente. Les personnes morales dans une telle coentreprise ne sont admissibles que si leurs objectifs prévus par la loi sont de mener les activités liées à la tâche du concours. Les personnes morales et les entités de la coentreprise doivent désigner un représentant autorisé unique qui sera responsable du respect des conditions du concours conformément à la disposition précédente. Le représentant autorisé ainsi que tous les auteurs des inscriptions au concours doivent satisfaire aux critères d’admissibilité applicables aux concurrents. Nonobstant la désignation d’un représentant autorisé unique, chaque membre d’une coentreprise est solidairement responsable de toute présentation émanant de son consortium.

Pour offrir tout service d’architecture dans la province de l’Ontario, les personnes physiques ou morales ou une coentreprise DOIVENT être titulaires d’un certificat d’exercice émis par l’ordre des architectes de l’Ontario (OAO). Dans le cas d’un architecte qui est titulaire d’un permis dans un territoire qui n’a pas de réciprocité avec l’OAO, un Permis temporaire et certificat d’exercice en vertu de l’article 23 de la Loi sur les architectes est disponible dans le but de fournir des services d’architecture pour un projet en particulier, sous réserve de la collaboration avec un membre de l’OAO.
Calendrier
La date limite de candidature est prolongée jusqu'au 2 mars 2021
LiensPour plus d'informations, vous pouvez visiter les sites Internet:
raic.org
buyandsell.gc.ca